Uncategorized

Return of the Pack

Powerwolf is back everyone!

2018 has been full of surprises the past few months with new albums released, as well as remasters for games I grew up with.

Aside from Sexorcism, another album that will be on my to-buy list this year is from the almighty Powerwolf:

The wolf pack has returned! Another band I deeply love is releasing a new album this year. I’ve been watching the band’s updates on the recording process ever since they went back to the studio. The hype increased when they started releasing track titles each day.

Here’s what we’ve got:

1. Fire & Forgive
2. Demons Are A Girl‘s Best Friend
3. Killers With The Cross
4. Incense And Iron
5. Where The Wild Wolves Have Gone
6. Stossgebet
7. Nightside Of Siberia
8. The Sacrament Of Sin
9. Venom Of Venus
10. Nighttime Rebel
11. Fist By Fist (Sacralize Or Strike)
12. Midnight Madonna (bonus track)

So far, I’m liking these titles, it seems like typical Powerwolf to me, and I don’t have too many expectations with sound, but I know there will be a bunch of hallelujahs, a few howls, and lots of organ music. Oh, and let us not forget an awesome riff because Powerwolf never fails to add in many of those!
The titles that appeal to me the most are Venom of Venus, and Demons Are A Girl’s Best Friend. I don’t know why but VOV seems to be interesting, like there is just something about it that turns me on. The other track I mentioned, instant reminder of Demons and Diamonds, one of my favourites from their debut. It also sums up how I prefer coloured gemstones over diamonds… and demons too! Either the tracks that seem the most interesting will flip or flop to me, we shall see once it is released.
I also can’t help but notice there aren’t as many satanic-like titles this time. Maybe it’s just me, but I always thought we had a good amount of those in previous albums.
The cover is a completely unsubtle Number of the Beast tribute only with the wolf starting a battle between what looks like the Devil and Jesus. I’m agnostic but I still love satanic themed music and strongly believe that you should never let your religion get in your way of enjoying music like this. If you’re say… Catholic, but you love music like this, I applaud you.
Over all, I’m looking forward to this as much as I am with Lordi’s new album, the wolves never fail to impress me, and whenever people in my area bug em to come over to our continent, they reply like 

“We’re working on it,”

Cursed promoters! Listen to other fanbases abroad! Anyway, July 18th is marked now and my copy is pre-ordered.

👽 Emily