Gaming

Seasons and Ultimate Offers

Let’s talk microtransactions again! I am pleased the last time I talked about this it didn’t generate hate so in the light of recent events I will be revisiting the topic.

I have started playing Sky Children of the Light or simply known as Sky for about a month now and by now I’ve familiarized myself with how things work in this game.

Aside from the story journeying from the serene Isle of Dawn to the perilous Eye of Eden, there is much more to do. Like many live service games, Sky has seasons offering different rewards within a certain time period. There are also limited events and collaborations which are shorter in duration as well, like the current Cinnamonroll crossover event.

I have managed to complete some seasonal tasks in this game from the current season but I highly doubt I will get everything.

I also am pleased to see I can still do quests from spirits of past seasons as a latecomer to the game. I have yet to encounter any traveling spirits and their features.

However, as relaxing and heartfelt as this game is, I have one major criticism to give and it is toward its offering of ultimate items from the current season, event shop, their premium shop where the microtransactions come into play, and through limited events that do not function or last the same as typical seasons. Once the time to acquire these items, which are purely cosmetic, expires, they are gone, and they do not return, ever.

Here’s where the problem lies, PC gamers like myself are at a disadvantage here because most of us certainly didn’t know this game existed until TGC announced it would be coming to our platform. I did not know about it until Gamescom last year. So we have catching up to do compared to everyone else.

It also significantly divides veterans and newcomers creating a sense of FOMO. Some, not all, veteran players may feel like they have a sense of superiority and entitlement because they have something exclusive that no one else can obtain. Meanwhile newer players will feel envious and excluded due to missing something in the game that will never return.

Did you miss out on that cute cape that looks like petals on a flower because you didn’t start playing until later? What about that dress? Well guess what? You’re screwed.

This may not seem like a big deal to gamers in general when it comes to exclusive cosmetics. But for a game as cozy as Sky you’d think this would seem a bit unfair and illogical don’t you think?

From a business perspective it works because it gets desperate players to spend within a short period of time if they don’t want to grind so they don’t miss out. It generates a large income quickly.

But from a player’s perspective it doesn’t help if you’re new to the game, are missing certain requirements, or miss it because you didn’t play during the time it was offered due to, you know, life. Maybe you really wanted that unique outfit or piece of furniture for your nest.

Disney Dreamlight Valley used to be like this too. Seasonal Star Path items offered for a limited time, until players got loud about missing out whether they started late or stopped playing for a while. Gameloft listened and decided to bring these exclusive items to the game’s premium shop so everyone could enjoy them. Sure, that means they’re more expensive, but it’s better than nothing, right?

As notorious as GL is for some decisions they’ve made regarding other games like Speedstorm, I continue to hope that with microtransactions in DDLV they are cosmetic only.

Anyway, back to Sky. It doesn’t make sense for TGC continue a practice like this. According to Reddit and Steam discussions, I am not alone, and this article is one way to get my voice out.

Here is what I am proposing: Sky should continue with the traveling spirits feature. It is useful to those who missed any from a previous season. My only suggestion for that feature is each traveling spirit should return more than once, and perhaps more advanced notice should be given so that we can grind more if we don’t want to spend. But for ultmate items that were offered through seasons and other events. At least make them available in the game’s premium shop (where you can buy more candles) and have it refresh on a weekly or monthly basis. Prices for these items shouldn’t exceed $10 in my humble opinion.

Those are my ideas. Some of you may agree and some of you might not. Regardless of how I feel about this, I do love the game and will be reviewing shortly.

👽Emily

Leave a comment