Life

Broadway – New Love

I know I’ve been quiet for a while and for good reason. When my health takes priority, I will step back and focus on trying to recover, but during that road, I’ve still had some exciting moments to enjoy.

My anxiety was, at one point, through the roof because I felt like the issue I was dealing with, wasn’t getting better, and there were problems at work as well. Then I found a chance to have a fun night and forget it all when my friend invited me to see the Broadway musical Aladdin downtown in the big city.

I had no idea this musical existed until I saw an Oh My Disney interview with Johnathan Freeman as he and the interviewer, Alexys, watched the movie together and I learned that not only is he the original voice of Jafar, but also the first to play the character in the musical as well.

I immediately said yes to the invitation and watched the movie in the afternoon before the show. I hadn’t seen it in a long time but I love it so much and know it by heart. Then we headed downtown for the event. My friend teased me that if they had a replica of Jafar’s staff at the merch booth, he would have given it to me when he saw the matinee performance a few days prior! But that would have likely cost a fortune, certainly double or triple the amount he paid for the replica of the lamp and I would NEVER want anyone to spend that much money on me. I would just get it myself if I really wanted it.

Surprisingly, our seats were right at the front left side of the stage, directly below the orchestra. I have seen plays and musicals before but never been right at the front of the stage. The last time I saw a musical was at one of the schools my dad worked at and it was called Leader of the Pack. I sat in the front row for that but that was in a cafeteria so I feel that doesn’t count.

When the show started, let me just say this, the actor who plays the genie is a great showman when he gave his introduction! Then my heart stopped as the first number began.

Although most of the actors entered from somewhere at the rear, all of a sudden, Jafar entered from the closest entrance to where I was sitting. I gazed at him as he prepared to join the company in song, and the first thing he did was turn and look straight at me with this sinister glare that was enough to make me blush and giggle. It wasn’t Johnathan underneath the costume, but no matter, the current actor was cute enough to make up for it. So hey, Jafar noticed me, and I can die happy now. 💖

My God, the whole show was a magical experience! So many colourful scenes, and beautiful songs, not just from the movie but even the original songs like “These Palace Walls”. The actors played their parts wonderfully, hell, there were even parts that made me laugh between songs, like the scenes between Jafar and Iago. They even got their own song “Diamond in the Rough” too when they convinced Aladdin to help them retrieve the lamp!

Oh, and I gotta say, during the second act, the whole scenery for the number “A Whole New World” with the magic carpet and everything just took my breath away. I was secretly singing along to it, and it almost makes you feel like it really is flying with Aladdin and Jasmine together, singing on it.

I won’t spoil too much for you, but if you love Disney, I highly recommend seeing this musical when you get the chance. I loved it so much and would see it again if it returned. I have always loved musicals and would definitely like to see more like some other Disney classics: Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, you name it.

I am also considering taking my mom to see Mamma Mia! this fall when it arrives. She loves that musical and has seen it before but I have not, so it would be great if I could take her to that as it comes not too far from her birthday. I also really wish they would bring back The Phantom of the Opera. My parents apparently went to see it when I was just a baby and now that I know the story, I am really jealous of them!

This post is actually a month late because the night I saw the show was February 23rd, so I’m a bit behind, but no matter, my health needed to take priority. It was a very last minute planned event but it was completely worth it.

👽Emily

2 thoughts on “Broadway – New Love”

Comments are closed.